Book Review: Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

Posted November 27, 2017 by Lori in Books, Reviews / 1 Comment Tags:

intothebrightunknown
Book Review: Into the Bright Unknown by Rae CarsonInto the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson
Series: The Gold Seer Trilogy #3
Published by Greenwillow Books on October 10th 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Historical, Romance, fantasy
Pages: 343
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository
Goodreads
three-stars

The stunning conclusion to Rae Carson’s New York Times–bestselling Gold Seer trilogy, which Publishers Weekly in a starred review called “Simply terrific.” A historical fantasy brimming with magic, romance, and adventure—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah Maas, and Westworld.
Leah Westfall, her fiancé Jefferson, and her friends have become rich in the California Territory, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense precious gold. But their fortune has made them a target, and when a dangerous billionaire sets out to destroy them, Lee and her friends decide they’ve had enough—they will fight back with all their power and talents. Lee’s magic is continuing to strengthen and grow, but someone is on to her—someone who might have a bit of magic herself. The stakes are higher than ever as Lee and her friends hatch a daring scheme that could alter the California landscape forever. With a distinctive young heroine and a unique interpretation of American history, Into the Bright Unknown strikes a rich vein of romance, magic, and adventure, bringing the Gold Seer Trilogy to its epic conclusion. Includes a map and an author’s note.

Guys. I’m so sad. It’s taken me awhile to write this because I’m just so sad about this. Plus, I hate that it feels a little bit like I’m discouraging you from reading this series because I still love the first two. But this last one was so disappointing. The series definitely deserved a better finale and even though it’s been a month since I read this, I’m still not over it. And this is exactly why I usually put off series finales for so long, because they almost never live up to the rest of the series and the build up from the previous books. And that’s exactly what happened here. As a series starter, it would be totally fine. But I really wish this had been a bit more explosive and amazing. And maybe that’s unfair but it’s honest.

I still absolutely loved the characters and their relationships but there was not a lot of action or excitement or danger or really much of anything else in this one. The other two books had so much action and a clear story arc that went from beginning to end very clearly. I knew where the books were hoping to go and while it maybe sounds like that made them predictable, it actually made them interesting and much more engaging. For this one, it was a little hard to become engrossed in for me because I wasn’t always clear what the goal was, other than to take down the bad guy. And in the end when they all come back together after their plot to discuss how it all went down really annoyed me. I just wanted to experience it with them but instead I had to listen to everyone role in the plan except for Lee’s. It felt a little bit like Ocean’s 11, where everyone has a part and you only know all of it at the very end when they go back and explain how they did it all, except it was much less exciting and much easier to figure out in this. And it just really disappointed me that I couldn’t experience all of it with the characters I’d been following and fallen in love with throughout the series. This might not make much sense if you haven’t read the book but reading this book just wasn’t the same kind of experience as the others, I almost felt left out as the reader instead of being a part of it all.

And I feel bad because normally, I’d probably have rated this higher and would have enjoyed it more if it was something new. But because this was one of my most anticipated books of the year and because I loved both earlier books in the series and love Carson’s other series, my expectations were pretty high. I did enjoy it but it just wasn’t everything I had hoped it would be. Plus, the actual end was pretty abrupt. <spoiler>And after waiting until the end of the series to see Lee and Jeff finally married, it gets cut off before the ceremony! WHAT. </spoiler> I wasn’t happy about that. But whatever. This book was just okay but probably one of the biggest disappointments of the year for me.

One Response to “Book Review: Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge