Mini Book Reviews: The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match and The Daybreak Bond

Posted September 25, 2017 by Lori in Books, Reviews / 1 Comment Tags: ,

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mini Book Reviews: The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match and The Daybreak BondThe Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match by Elizabeth Eulberg
Series: The Great Shelby Holmes #2
Published by Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books on September 12th 2017
Genres: Mystery, Retelling
Pages: 256
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

The Great Shelby Holmes may have finally met her match in this humorous sequel to Elizabeth Eulberg's fresh twist on Sherlock Holmes.
Being friends with a super sleuth isn't easy, especially when she's nine years old and four feet tall, and full of attitude. But for eleven-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he's looking for.In the few weeks since moving to Harlem with his mom, Shelby has been training John in the art of observation—a skill that comes in handy on the first day of school. John's new teacher, Mr. Crosby, is acting suspiciously, and Shelby knows this is a mystery worth investigating. But as Shelby and John dig deeper, they discover that there may be someone unexpected involved—someone who may have Shelby beat.From internationally bestselling author Elizabeth Eulberg comes a feel-good sequel for fans of Kate Messner and Chris Grabenstein.

These books are so much fun! If you have kids who like mysteries and are ready to graduate from Magic Tree House or Nate the Great, check out these books. They follow John Watson and his new friend Shelby Holmes while they solve cases and navigate the world of elementary school. And the second one is just as good as the first! John and Shelby met over the summer so this one shows them heading back to school. Except for John, it’s a new school and now he’s friends with the kid everybody thinks is weird. But the book does a great job of showing John seeing how everyone treats Shelby at school a figuring out whether he wants to be associated with her and become an outsider too or try to make new friends. In the end, it all works out and we get to see an even deeper friendship develop between these two. It’s cute and fun and even gets a little bit emotional. Plus, for those of us who are Sherlock fans, it’s fun to see all of the character reimagined in this series, some as kids and some as adults. Overall, a really great mystery series for kids that keeps it light and fun and not scary but also with a little danger and lots of friendship. I highly recommend them!

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mini Book Reviews: The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match and The Daybreak BondThe Daybreak Bond by Megan Frazer Blakemore
Series: The Firefly Code #2
Published by Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books on September 12th 2017
Genres: Science Fiction
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

Mori and her friends Julia, Benji, and Theo have never seen life beyond the walls of their perfect society, Old Harmonie. That changes when their new friend Ilana is threatened by the rules that are supposed to keep them all safe. They escape together, hoping to find help in Boston with Dr. Agatha Varden, one of Old Harmonie's pioneering founders.
But the outside world is nothing like they anticipated. As they face challenges they never expected and encounter a group of kids from the outside, Mori and the others begin to understand the complicated reality of their supposedly perfect community. With the help of these new friends, they just might be able to save Ilana . . . but at what cost?
This thought-provoking sequel to Megan Frazer Blakemore's stunningly imaginative novel, The Firefly Code, gives readers a chance to see our world in a brand new light.

This was a great sequel to last year’s The Firefly Code and I’m so happy there’s such a great middle-grade sci-fi series out there! These books bring up the issues of Artificial Intelligence and utopian societies. The readers follow Mori as she learns about her community and the science behind it and how growing up in a community that values perfection and easy fixes affects children and the community as a whole. It also follows her group of friends and they meet someone new and discover secrets about her past. And their own. It’s such a great intro to sci-fi books for the younger crowd and does a really great job of presenting those kinds of questions and really making the reader wonder whether it’s better to be able to live as we are or should we take full advantage of the science and technology we’ve discovered even if it means altering who we really are. I really loved the group of friends and how they stuck together when it matter and supported each other but still kept their own ideas about the situations and their own futures. This really is a great series for kids interested in AI and I love that it doesn’t shy away from the big questions of AI even though it’s technically a book for kids. It’s also a great series for kids who love books about friends and adventures. These are definitely the kinds of books we should be handing to kids. These books will make them think and I love that.

One Response to “Mini Book Reviews: The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match and The Daybreak Bond”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge