Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis {Review & Excerpt}

Posted June 19, 2017 by Lori in Books, Reviews / 2 Comments Tags: ,

lostandfound

Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis {Review & Excerpt}

I received this book for free from the Publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis {Review & Excerpt}Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis
Series: Wildstone #1
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on June 20th 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher via Edelweiss
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository
Goodreads
four-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.
They say life can change in an instant…
After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?
The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.
On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.
As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

 

I’m a huge fan of Jill Shalvis’ romances so as soon as I saw she had a new book coming out and there was going to be a tour for it, I jumped on it as soon as I could! And when I saw that it was being catergorized as women’s fiction, I honestly had no idea what to think about it. But the synopsis sounded promising and I have yet to read a book by Shalvis that I did not like so I went for it. And I’m so glad I did! I still honestly have no idea what really makes this different from her romances but I’m guessing it has a little to do with reaching new audiences and the fact that this story focuses a little more on the sister relationship than the romantic relationship. But family, friendships and romance tend to be strong plotlines in all of her books that I’ve read so far so definitely don’t be worried if you love Shalvis’ romances and are worried you won’t like this one because it’s being called women’s fiction. It’s still romance and drama and self-discovery and growth and family relationships and change and love and all of that stuff. And it was all great in this book. Like always.

What I especially loved in this one was the way the bond between these two sisters grew. What originally brought them together physically also ended up bringing them together emotionally and watching not only Quinn’s transformation but also Tilly’s, was really special. And as someone who reads a lot of YA, I thought Tilly’s character was done really well and felt like a real teenager who was dealing with a very difficult loss and a lot of changes in her life. And their relationship developed very naturally as well, except for the fact that it started under very unusual circumstances. But their transistion from strangers to sisters was tough and beautiful to watch. Relationships outside of the romances are always important in Shalivs’ novels and one of the reason why I love her books so much and this one is no different. And I really enjoyed that about this one.

That’s not to say the romance was swoony and important. Because it was. This book showed two people who came together and had chemistry but also really started to build a friendship. Mick wasn’t there to save Quinn, he was there to grow alongside her and help her deal with her problems while she was doing the same for him. I always love reading books where the romances are built on support and friendship and having fun together while also being insanely attracted to each other. And that’s what we got here. I really loved them together.

In the end, if you’re a fan of Jill Shalvis, you’ll also be a fan of this book. We get a bit more of the platonic relationships in this one and some swoons with the romance but not much of the steamy bedroom scenes that are present in her romances but that wasn’t actually something I missed but I understand if you might. I’d still urge you to give this one a chance, though, because the characters really are worth meeting. As usual with Shalvis’ books, the characters really make it work. And here’s an excerpt with both Quinn and Tilly and shows one of their very first meetings:

To say that Tilly had had a bad day, a bad week, a bad month was an understatement. But as she stared down from the tree house, looking into a face that so resembled her own, somehow, in spite of not being able to breathe, she managed to find her voice. “I don’t need you,” she said, hating that she sounded thin and quivery, like she’d been crying.

She had not been crying.

At least not that she would admit to.

She hadn’t been in the tree house in a while. Not since she’d gone through a rough patch at school when the girls had been bitches and the teachers jerks, and her mom had been on her about her grades, and all she’d wanted to do was make herself invisible. But no matter how much she’d wished for superpowers, including invisibility, they’d never come.

So she came here to vanish. The tree itself was tall and stable, and it always protected her. She’d named it Kevin.

Kevin had come through for her more than anyone else, with the exception of her mom.

The first time she’d sat up here, her mom had freaked out and called the cops to report her missing. When they’d found her, her mom had gotten a ladder and climbed up to the tree house, and with tears in her eyes she’d said, “Don’t fly away from me yet, darling, I’m not ready.”

After that, Tilly always had told her mom whenever she’d needed to be invisible and her mom had understood.

But now she was gone. There’d been no one left to give a shit if she disappeared or not. Especially not Quinn, a mysterious sister she hadn’t even known about. “I don’t need you,” she repeated.

“Well, that’s fair,” Quinn said. “I don’t like to need anyone either. You going to come down so we can talk?”

“No.”

“Is there a ladder?”

“It rotted.”

“Okay then.” And to Tilly’s shock, Quinn inhaled deeply and then began to climb the tree herself. “Yikes, they’re some seriously gigantor ants.”

“And killer squirrels,” Tilly said.

Maybe two whole feet off the ground, Quinn froze, looking terrified. “Killer squirrels?”

“They throw acorns with deadly accuracy,” Tilly said. “And the kamikaze blue jays are vicious, so watch out.”

Quinn searched the tree with concern, making Tilly laugh for the first time in a long time. “Are you afraid of squirrels and blue jays?”

“Of course not,” Quinn said. “I’m afraid of killer squirrels and kamikaze blue jays. In fact, there’s a squirrel starting at me right now with beady, shifty little eyes.”

“City girl.”

 

I definitely think you guys should give this book a chance. Whether you like family drama, women’s fiction, romance, or just good books, pick it up when it comes out tomorrow!

 

 

They say life can change in an instant …

From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women’s fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood.
Pre-order your copy in any format and receive an exclusive crossover Heartbreaker Bay meets Wildstone bonus scene, featuring Archer and Elle going to Wildstone, CA, the town in which Lost and Found Sisters takes place – read about their night in a haunted B&B!

Simply enter your order number OR upload a screenshot of your proof of purchase. Entries must be received by June 25th and you will receive content via email on June 27th!

Preorder and fill out the form here!

 

 

About Jill Shalvis:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s sexy contemporary and award-winning books wherever romances are sold and click on the blog button above for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.

 

 

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Newsletter SignUp

 

 

2 Responses to “Blog Tour: Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis {Review & Excerpt}”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge