Blog Tour: The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart and The Frog Princess Returns {Author Q&A and Giveaway!}

Posted June 5, 2017 by Lori in Books, Posts / 7 Comments Tags: , ,

211-47795_ch00_3P.indd

Blog Tour: The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart and The Frog Princess Returns {Author Q&A and Giveaway!}

I’m so excited to be on the Blog Tour for both of these books today! I’m a huge fan of middle-grade reads. Not just because I have two kids within this age range who love to read but also because this is such an important time in any child’s reading journey and I love finding new books that will excite kids and keep them engaged. And anytime I find books like that, I love to share them! So today I have two authors who have books for young readers that I’m really excited about! And as promised, I also have Q&A’s from each. So here’s a little info about the books and the authors’ answers to go with them! And make sure you stick around until the end for a chance to win both of these books!

 

Blog Tour: The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart and The Frog Princess Returns {Author Q&A and Giveaway!}The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 30th 2017
Genres: Middle-Grade, fantasy
Pages: 256
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository
Goodreads

Aventurine is a brave young dragon ready to explore the world outside of her family's mountain cave . . . if only they'd let her leave it. Her family thinks she's too young to fly on her own, but she's determined to prove them wrong by capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human.
But when that human tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she's transformed into a puny human without any sharp teeth, fire breath, or claws. Still, she's the fiercest creature in these mountains--and now she's found her true passion: chocolate. All she has to do is get to the human city to find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she'll be conquering new territory in no time . . . won't she?
A classic fantasy with terrific girl power, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George.
Praise for Kat, IncorrigibleBank Street Best Books of 2012A Spring 2011 Kids' Indie Next pick A 2012 ALA/ALSC Notable Children's Book A Top 40 Pick for the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association

Questions and Answers with author Stephanie Burgis!

1) How did you create the character of Aventurine?

I’ve always loved both dragons and chocolate, and once it finally occurred to me that it would be fun to put them together, Aventurine roared straight into life! Fierce, brave, territorial, loyal and absolutely obsessed with chocolate – needless to say, I really love her. 🙂

2) How did you choose Aventurine’s name?

It made sense to me that dragons – being famously obsessed with precious gems! – would name their own hatchlings after them, so all the dragons in my book have gemstone-names. I was looking through lists of gems for ideas when I came across the gemstone “aventurine” and knew I’d found her name – it was perfect for my adventurous dragon-girl heroine.

3) What are some of your favorite books? What are you reading now?  

Some of my favorite MG books are Hilary McKay’s Casson Family series, Sheela Chari’s Vanished, Jenn Reese’s Above World trilogy, Grace Lin’s Year of the Dog, Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time, Ronald L. Smith’s Hoodoo, and Dana Levy’s The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher.

Right now, I’m reading an advanced copy of Cressida Cowell’s The Wizards of Once, and so far (I’m about 60 pages in!) it is thrillingly fun and magical.

4) What would you do if you were transformed into a dragon?

Leap into the air and fly, immediately! 🙂 I would also let out a very satisfying, earth-shaking ROAR.

5) What are you working on next?

I’m about to dive into edits for the next book in this series. It stars one of the side-characters from The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart: Silke, who is hired in Book 2 to spy on some very dangerous fairies. (Of course Aventurine is heavily involved. And of course there’s lots of chocolate, too!) I can’t wait to jump back into their world.

 

Blog Tour: The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart and The Frog Princess Returns {Author Q&A and Giveaway!}The Frog Princess Returns Series: The Tales of the Frog Princess #9
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on June 6th 2017
Genres: Middle-Grade, fantasy, Fairy Tales & Folklore
Pages: 208
AmazonBarnes and NobleBook Depository
Goodreads

Fans of E. D. Baker's The Frog Princess, rejoice! Fifteen years after the original, Princess Emma, Prince Eadric, and all the beloved characters are back for another magical adventure from popular author E. D. Baker.
Two weeks after Emma's birthday, Prince Eadric -- having been turned from a frog into a human again -- is still in Greater Greensward. One day, a beautiful princess named Adara arrives at the castle in Greater Greensward for a visit, claiming to be Emma's distant cousin. But Adara has other motives that threaten Emma and Eadric's blossoming romance.
Meanwhile, something is very wrong in Greater Greensward. Crops are dying, streams are drying up, and large sections of trees in the enchanted forest are withering -- all because the Fairy Queen has disappeared. Without her, there is no peace in the magical kingdom, and dangerous foes threaten to take advantage of her absence. Only brave, tenacious Emma with her knowledge of the land can restore order . . . but first she must set out on a journey unlike any before.
Brimming with lovable characters and page-turning magic, The Frog Princess Returns will bring a whole new batch of readers to E. D. Baker's highly acclaimed, wonderfully popular world of Frog Princess series.

Questions and Answers with author E.D. Baker!

1) How did you originally come up with the idea for The Frog Princess 15 years ago?

When reading the classic fairy tales to my children, I had never liked the way the princesses were portrayed as helpless victims.  I decided to write a story in which the princess was strong enough to help herself as well as those around her.  Emma is strong, caring and capable of doing whatever she wants to do.

2) How did you come up with the idea for The Frog Princess Returns?

I wanted to write a book to celebrate the fifteenth anniversary of the publication of The Frog Princess.  After rereading the first few books in the series, I came across Hazel’s birthday party in Once Upon A Curse where a fairy bestowed the title of Green Witch on Hazel.  When I read that the Green Witch was supposed to help humans and fairies, I realized that Emma, the newest Green Witch, had never helped the fairies in any significant way.  I wrote the book during an election year, so fairy politics came into play.  The Frog Princess Returns takes place between Once Upon a Curse and No Place for Magic.  Emma, Eadric and a lot of their family and friends are in the story.

3) What are some of your favorite books? What are you reading now?

I don’t generally read fiction when I am writing a book of my own.  However, lately I have been reading anthologies about witches and warlocks in preparation for a book I intend to write soon.

4) If you were transformed into an animal like Princess Emma, what kind of animal would you hope to be?

A bird, if that was all I could manage, but I’d really want to be a dragon.  Then I could fly long distances and as high as I wanted to, without worrying about anything bigger coming after me. I’ve always thought it would be wonderful to fly, and I don’t mean in an airplane!

5) What are you working on next?

I am currently working on a contemporary fantasy that is unlike anything I have ever written.    It begins in the human world, but quickly goes to a world where magic is everywhere.   If your readers would like to receive postcards when my new books come out, they can go to my website www.talesofedbaker.com and sign up on my mailing list.

GIVEAWAY!!

One copy of each book (US/CANADA ONLY)
Prizes provided by Bloomsbury

a Rafflecopter giveaway

7 Responses to “Blog Tour: The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart and The Frog Princess Returns {Author Q&A and Giveaway!}”

  1. Sharon Extine

    Liked the description of both books. My grand daughter would love them. She takes after her grandmother—she loves to read. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge