June Reading Queue

Posted June 6, 2016 by Lori in Books, Posts / 2 Comments Tags: ,

reading queue

books

Reading Queue is a monthly meme started by Books: A True Story where we can get together and talk about the books we hope to read in the coming month and the books we read last month. So write up your own Reading Queue post and then go check them out!

May Reads

I did an absolutely horrible job at sticking to my May Reading Queue. I’m partway through one of the books, finished two, and DNF’d one. That left six completely untouched.  And I also only read six books in May. So it’s easy to say it was a terrible reading month for me. Except that five of those books were five star books for me. So, it raises the question. Quantity or quality? Of course, both would be awesome but in the end I think I’d rather read books I loved in smaller amounts than a ton of mediocre books. So, here are the books I actually read in May:

The Mirror King (The Orphan Queen, #2) Bossypants

The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows: This was, surprisingly, the only book I didn’t fall in love with this month. It took me forever to read and I just didn’t love the way it all wrapped up. Still a fan of the series just didn’t love it.
Bossypants by Tina Fey: I listened to this on my way to BEA and loved it! I laughed out loud so many times. As a woman and a mother, I definitely appreciated the way she spoke about being both in the world we live in.

I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After The Sun Is Also a Star

I Hate Fairyland by Skotti Young: So. Much. Fun. Seriously, Gertrude is a character I think you guys should all meet but this is also a very fun look at a darker side of fairytales. I can’t wait for more!
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon: I picked this up at BEA, one of my MUST HAVES, and couldn’t wait to read it. It was fantastic. So incredible. I loved the characters and their stories and their romance. I don’t want to spoil anything so I’ll just say that I loved this even more than her debut.

My Lady Jane The Long Game (The Fixer, #2)

My Lady Jane by Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton, and Cynthia Hand: Guys, this comes out tomorrow and it was so much fun, I highly recommend it. Don’t be discouraged by the historical fiction part, it only partly qualifies, or by the fact that there are three authors. They wrote seamlessly and the journey was just a whole lot of fun. And completely, totally addicting.
The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: If you guys have been around since last year, you know The Fixer was one of my surprise favorites of last year. I don’t really do political thrillers, ever, but I loved Tess and her story and how actually thrilling it was. And the sequel lives up to it. I devoured it in one day. So read these books!!!

June Reads

Thanks so reading so little last month, I’m now officially behind on my Goodreads challenge. I don’t know if I’ll be able to make it up this month or not but I’m definitely going to try! Here are the books I’m hoping to read this month:

Alexander Hamilton A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow: I was finally bitten by the Hamilton bug when my husband made me listen to the soundtrack over and over again on our car trip last month. So after knowing all of the music, I had to read the book that inspired it! Also, I just really wanted to know what was true or not. I’ve already started it and it’s very interesting. But it is definitely a much slower (and often much much drier) read than I’m used to. But still, I’m enjoying learning about Hamilton and finding the differences between the show and the book. But this will take me months to read, so don’t expect to find it on next month’s June list.
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas: I know this was on my list last month but I did start it and am about halfway through but for some reason it’s also a slow read for me. I’m hoping to finish it up this month. I’m enjoying it but not quite loving it yet.

Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom Ghosts

Frazzled by Booki Vivat: I’m so excited for this book. It looks fun and fast and a perfect representation of a young uncertain teen heading into middle school.
Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier: I honestly don’t know much about this but I picked it up at BEA because I love graphic novels and I’ve heard great things about Raina’s books.

Learning to Swear in America The Loose Ends List

Learning to Swear in America by Katie Kennedy: I’m looking forward to this one (though also a bit hesitant) because they say it’s for fans of Andrew Smith and Rainbow Rowell. Mostly, I’m hoping it’ll be fun and quirky.
The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone: I’m hoping this one will be good but I’ve seen both good and terrible reviews for it. Only way to find out if I’ll like it is to read it! Here’s hoping for the best!

The Vanishing Throne (The Falconer, #2) This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May: I loved The Faloncer when I read it! It was full of action and a kickass MC so I’m definitely looking forward to its sequel! But I will also be reading this recap before I start because I’m not sure I remember a ton of details from the first book.
This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab: Another highly anticipated book! I’m definitely excited for this one but cautious due to the hype.

Two Summers The Lovely Reckless

Two Summers by Aimee Friedman: Could there be a more perfect summer read than this? I love parallel lives stories and summer romances. Put those together and I’m definitely in!
The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia: I haven’t read a book by Garcia yet but I’m feeling like I definitely need some dramatic YA romance in my life this summer and without a new Katie McGarry book, I think this one will fit the bill!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1) The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: Well, the movie for this is coming out at some point and well all know the rule about seeing movies, right? Must read the book first. So I picked this one up at a Scholastic sale and am looking forward to finally seeing what all the talk is about.
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater: Yes, this was on my list last month. I really hope to read it soon so I may bring it on vacation with me. But really, there’s probably only a small chance I’ll actually end up getting to this one.

So, those are my potential June books. Will I read them all? Probably not. Will I do my very best to get in as many as I can? Yes!

What are you looking forward to reading in June?

2 Responses to “June Reading Queue”

  1. I just read Everything, Everything this weekend, and I loved it. I’m shocked to hear you liked The Sun is Also a Star more. I got it at BEA too, and I may need to read it ASAP now that you said that.

    I’m number 1 on the hold list for The Long Game at the library, so I should have it by the end of the week. I can’t wait! Although I need to flip through The Fixer and refresh myself on the characters and plot. 🙂
    Kate @ Mom’s Radius recently posted..Book Review: The Flip Side (YA)My Profile

  2. Tammy V

    The Raven Cycle series and Miss Peregrine’s are two of my favorites. They are both unique reads and MP has really cool pictures with it.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge