July Reading Queue

Posted July 3, 2015 by Lori in Books, Posts / 4 Comments Tags: , ,

books

I was absolutely terrible at following my TBR for June. I pretty much read whatever I wanted. It felt good! It was a nice break from always following a schedule. Usually a schedule is good and keeps me on track but sometimes it just feels stifling and can suck my desire to read at all. So, I pretty much tossed my June TBR and read what I wanted. And it felt really good to get some older books read! I highly recommend it. Here’s what I did end up reading in June and what I plan (HA!) on reading in July.

June Reads

Jackaby (Jackaby, #1) Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery

Jackaby by William Ritter and Rat Queens Vol 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe: I really didn’t know what to think going into Jackaby and I ended up liking it okay. Jackaby was almost too much like Sherlock for me to love this (even though I love Sherlock, I just wanted an original character). Rat Queens was super fun and full of girl power and sarcasm and humor and fighting. Loved it!

P.S. I Still Love You (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #2) The Fixer (The Fixer, #1)

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han and The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: I was not a fan of PSISLY. I was so sad but it just felt like the book didn’t really need to exist. The Fixer was my favorite book of June! Fans of Scandal and Veronica Mars will love it! (That’s true, I love them all!)

Simply Irresistible (Lucky Harbor, #1) The Sweetest Thing (Lucky Harbor, #2)

Simply Irresistible and The Sweetest Thing by Jill Shalvis: Why did I wait so long to read Jill Shalvis?! I don’t know. I think it was because I was afraid I wouldn’t like them. Sometimes I can be afraid of romances, especially the standard types, but while these follow the same rules as all romances, the situations the characters were in felt original to me. I loved them!

Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2) Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)

Unravel Me and Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi: Oh boy. I’ve been wanting tofinish this series for a while and for whatever the reason, this was the month I finally did it! Unfortunately, I didn’t love it. Unravel Me was perhaps the worst sequel I’ve ever read and while Ignite Me was a million times better, it still wasn’t quite good enough as a battle/war/dystopian series ender for me to love the books. But I think it just comes down to the fact that I don’t love Warner and that’s what these books is really all about.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews: This was such an interesting take on a “cancer book”. It gets compared to The Fault in Our Stars but it is nothing like that. Honestly, I’m still not sure how I feel about it but I do appreciate it for it’s honesty and originality.

July Reads

Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1) A Million Miles Away

Red Rising by Pierce Brown and A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery: I’ve already started both of these so I just need to finish them. I’m really enjoying both of them but they are 100% different!

Chasing Impossible (Pushing the Limits, #5) Rebel Mechanics (Rebel Mechanics, #1)

Chasing Impossible by Katie McGarry and Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson: While I’m excited about more of both Logan and Abby, I’m still surprised they’ll be together! I still can’t wait for this book and am planning on taking it on vacation with me! I’ve been looking for more steampunk so RM is definitely one I’m looking forward to. I’m hoping this one will be lots of fun!

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles, #2) Never Always Sometimes

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson and Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid: I’m so excited for The Heart of Betrayal! I’m also nervous to start it and will need to find a recap of the first book but I’m so excited! I’m also looking forward to NAS. I really liked Let’s Get Lost and am hoping I enjoy this one just as well.

Six Impossible Things Shadows of Sherwood (Robyn Hoodlum, #1)

 Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood and Shadows of Sherwood by Kekla Magoon: SIT showed up and I was so excited to have it in my hands!! I can’t wait to read this! It looks really good. And as you guys probably know, I’m excited for any sort of Robin Hood retelling. I’m interested to see how this MG story turns out!

I’m going to cut it there. I’ll be going on vacation this month but I’ve not yet picked out which books I’ll be taking. Since we’re flying, they’ll mostly be ebooks and hopefully some eARCs that I can catch up on or get ahead on. I’m think besides Chasing Impossible, which is an ebook, I’ll also plan on bringing Walk on Earth a Stranger and Ice Like Fire. I’m really excited for both of those. Also, some older titles like Nantucket Blue and Hopeless, which I have on my Kindle. But for now, those are just ideas. So you’ll really just have to check back over the course of July to see what I’m reading! You can find me on Goodreads if you really want to stay up to date!

What are you guys planning on reading in July and what was your favorite book from June?

4 Responses to “July Reading Queue”

  1. I like reading off my list too 🙂 It is a lot of fun! I’ve been interested in reading Me, Earl and the Dying Girl. I like that it’s nothing like The Fault in Our Stars. Makes me want to pick it up now 🙂 Hope you get lots of reading done on vacation! Or just have lots of fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge